India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway win seats on UN Security Council – ABC News

Canada spent nearly $1.7 million on its campaign.

India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway won non-permanent seats on the coveted United Nations Security Council — the organization’s most powerful board — for the committee’s 2021-2022 term.

India, the world’s largest country without a permanent position on the Security Council, ran unopposed for a seat allocated to its geographic region. Mexico also ran without an opponent.

Vying for one of two vacant seats available to its region, Canada failed to secure enough votes to join the council, losing out to Ireland and Norway.

Neither Kenya nor

Previous post As oil slumps, Norway explores new fields in the Arctic – Al Jazeera English
Next post Archaeologists Discover Viking Toilet in Denmark – HeritageDaily