Finland Updates Travel Advice, Urges Finns to Avoid Non-Essential Travel –

Finland no longer advises its citizens against non-essential travel to Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Estonia, Lithuania and Latvia.

In a recent press release, the Finnish Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced that the situation no longer requires for the citizens of Finland to avoid travelling to these countries, however, recommending to Finnish citizens to avoid non-essential travel to other countries, reports.

“If your trip abroad is essential, bear in mind that the restrictive measures imposed by different countries may change rapidly and come as a surprise: local quarantine regulations, restrictions on movement, disruption of traffic, restrictions on leaving the country, reduced availability of healthcare services, closures of services, including the availability of food services, concern everyone,” the press release of the MFA states. 

According to the MFA, all persons returning to Finland from countries subject to internal or external border control are recommended to self-isolate for 14 days.

At the same time, the MFA points out that Finland has only limited capabilities to assist their citizens in difficulty abroad, amid the pandemic, thus urging travellers to obtain comprehensive travel insurance.

Last month, Finland’s government decided to relax some of its precautionary measures which have been introduced as part of the country’s efforts to stop the further spread of the Coronavirus pandemic (COVID-19).

The government clarified that the reopening of Finland’s border would enable further categories of travellers to enter the country, including students studying in Finland, international journalists and seasonal workers.

From May 14, Finland also reopened its borders for international workers from

Previous post Canada loses out to Ireland and Norway in Security Council vote – BBC News
Next post Denmark will open to most European nations except Sweden, Portugal – Midwest Communication