Finland to loosen travel restrictions based on infection ratios – YLE News

Matkustaja Ateenan lentokentällä. Kreikka avasi lentokenttänsä kansainvälisille lennoille 15. toukokuuta.
A passenger at Athens airport after Greece opened its airports for international flights on 15 June.

Image: Yannis Kolesidis / EPA

In an aim to minimise the risk of coronavirus-infected travellers arriving to Finland, the government has set new guidelines.

Going forward, Finland will not require travellers to undergo 14 days of quarantine if they arrive from countries with a maximum of eight new coronavirus diagnoses per 100,000 people over a two-week period.

The announcement was made at a press conference on Tuesday evening, and Interior Minister Maria Ohisalo noted that the government would remain extremely cautious on the reopening of borders.

Travel may be possible to 12 more countries

Based on the government’s formula and the current coronavirus situation in countries within the Schengen area and across the rest of Europe, restrictions on travel to at least 12 countries may be lifted on 13 July.

The list of Schengen countries from which travel might be possible include:

Germany, Italy, Austria, Greece, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary and Liechtenstein.

In addition, travel to Finland from the following non-Schengen EU countries would also be allowed:

Croatia, Cyprus and Ireland.

However, internal border controls and travel restrictions would remain in place with the following countries:

The Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Poland, France, Sweden and

Previous post Teenage boy killed in Denmark crash – WCSH-WLBZ
Next post Sweden justifies ‘classic pandemic’ model it followed – 9News