Denmark to Reopen for Majority of European Countries –

Denmark’s government has decided to reopen its borders, from June 27, for the majority of European Union countries, except for Portugal and Sweden, asserting the current Coronavirus situation permits for such a step to be taken.

The main criteria in which Denmark has based the reopening of borders is the low number of Coronavirus infections and testing capacities, reports.

“I am pleased that we are now able to take a significant step towards normalisation and that Danes can now travel to more countries in Europe. We are in a much better place in Denmark than we had dared hope just a short time ago,” Danish Foreign Minister, Jeppe Kofod pointed out in an announcement.

Travel will be eligible for “open countries”, which are considered to have fewer than 20 infected persons per 100,000 inhabitants per week. On June 25, will be established another list of countries that are considered as open by Statens Serum Institut.

Up to this point, the countries meeting the criteria include France, Greece, Italy, Spain and the Netherlands.

The countries that do not meet the criteria, for now, are Sweden and Portugal. Anyway, travel will be allowed to the Swedish regions of Scania, Halland or Blekinge. Tourists are required to present proof of a valid booking of at least six nights.

Denmark’s Foreign Minister advises citizens not to travel to countries that imposed significant entry restrictions on Danes such as imposed mandatory quarantine, even if they meet the government’s criteria. Thus the unnecessary trips to Ireland and the

Previous post COVID-19 tracing apps in Bahrain, Kuwait and Norway spark privacy concerns – MobiHealthNews
Next post Hold the sausages! A century of Finland’s changing Midsummer traditions – News Now Finland